“I know very well what you represent. You represent the idiocy of today. “

It’s getting late, these’ll be quick, so here’s my Weekly Entertainment Roundup for 01-22-2009 through 01-28-2009

These are the things that entertained me:

TV: 

Extras: I suddenly found that I liked Ricky Gervais so I went ahead and got the Extras: Season 1 DVDs from Netflix and loved pretty much every minute of it. Extras is a sitcom about  a couple of film and tv extras and the hilarious hijinks that ensue when they dig themselves into a hole with their (usually) accidentally inappropriate conduct. And nobody digs themselves into a hole better than Andy (Gervais) and Maggie (Ashley Jenson) and when they do manage to pull themselves out of it it’s usually in the most awkward way. It’s so funny it’ll make you cringe. It made Kim cringe so much she had to leave the room. Great stuff. Can’t wait to see season two.

God, The Universe and Everything Else: A made for TV roundtable discussion of exactly what the title says. Want a full on discussion about it, check out my previous blog.

I’ve got a bunch of stuff sitting in my DVR now that I’m looking forward to getting around to watching, including: Fringe, Lost, Numbers, Burn Notice and a few I probably forgot.

Movies

Without a Paddle 2: Nature’s Calling: #1) Aside from the title this has nothing to do with Without a Paddle (which I liked). #2) It sucked. We shut it off halfway through. Boring, unfunny, pointless. Skip it. Rent Without a Paddle

Burn After Reading: Absolutely hilarious. Malkovich stole the show in this Coen brothers movie. Joel and Ethan Coen have a tendency to flip flop good and bad movies. One excellent movie followed up by one that is sub-par. After No Country For Old Men was such a smash with the critics and audience as well as the “Academy” (I was on the edge of my seat until the end left me feeling a bit cold) I was expecting this to be one of their duds. I’m pretty sure it performed poorly at the box office and it certainly didn’t seem to get much love. But I gotta wonder, what were people thinking?? Populated with the kooky characters we’ve come to expect in Joel and Ethan Coen’s movies I think this pic was on-par with some of their best, including Fargo and The Big Lebowski. The dialogue was excellent with memorable 1 liners such as: “I thought you might be worried about the security of your shit” and “Whose ass didn’t I kiss!” also “You’re a Mormon, everyone has a drinking problem next to you.”  frankly, there’s too many to list here. The Coens made sure to get top-notch talent to fill out their characters and cast John Malkovich, Brad Pitt, George Clooney, Tilda Swinton, Frances McDormand and Richard Jenkins. I had a good laugh with this movie, especially every time Malkovich opened his mouth.

My Best Friend’s Girl: Undoubtedly Dane Cook’s best movie (aside from Waiting). It’s the first time that I’ve seen the “Dane Cook” from his stand-up act actually come through in a flick. He seems comfortable. The story is what it is, no great shakes there but I enjoyed, worth a rental.

Gran Torino:  Clint Eastwood lives up to his Living Legend status with what will probably be his last starring role. This is the second movie he’s directed this year so there probably won’t be any chance of him slowing down there, thankfully. Gran Torino is the story of a hard-ass, old-school American bigot accepting that the Vietnamese moving into his neighborhood are human beings struggling to survive, just like himself. Must see.

Music

Mold Monkies: Kim and I went to see The Mold Monkies play live at the Spring Glen Church in Hamden on Friday night. It was a great show. I had never seen MM play live and they really did rock. plus Russell Shaddox (who helped out on Hunting Season and Burning Inside) sported a really cool limited edition Burning Inside t-shirt. Good fun, great music, Excellent food (pot-luck!) lotsa friends. And the gig also happened to raise a ton of money for Habitat For Humanity!

 

Well that’s about it for this week. The theme in TV/Movie viewing seems to have shifted from horror to misanthropes making fools of themselves. Anyway, I’m not sure what next week has in store but we shall see. 

p.s. I’ll put some links into this when I get a chance.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to ““I know very well what you represent. You represent the idiocy of today. “”

  1. ejwrann Says:

    Wait until you see Extras Season 2 and the Christmas Special (the finale). It actually transcends the medium. Great stuff! I think you’ll be surprised at the direction it takes and how moving it is.

  2. Dana Says:

    Thanks Nathan, you have a very informative blog, I’m going to have to pick up some of these movies. I going to copy/paste this so I will know.

Leave a Reply

